The Alberta Department of Trade and Industry.—This Department supervises the administration of the following Acts: the Minimum Wage Act, 1925, relating to the wages of women workers; the Male Minimum Wage Act; the Industrial Standards Act; the Alberta Trades Disputes Act; the Factories Act; the Theatres Act; the Trade Schools Act; and the Qualification of Tradesmen Act. The Department of Health has the administration of the Alberta Employment Offices Act as well as measures for unemployment relief.

The British Columbia Department of Labour.—This Department was instituted by an Act of 1917, under a Minister and Deputy Minister of Labour. It administers the laws of British Columbia affecting labour, and is empowered to collect information respecting industries, wages, employment, prices, labour organizations, and other data pertaining to labour problems. Prominent among the Acts administered by the Department are: the Male Minimum Wage Act 1934; the Female Minimum Wage Act 1934; the Hours of Work Act 1934. These are administered by the Board of Industrial Relations, the Deputy Minister of Labour being Chairman of the Board. Other activities of the Department include the administration of: the Semi-monthly Payment of Wages Act; the Factories Act; the Apprenticeship Act; the Trade-Schools Regulation Act; the Industrial Conciliation and Arbitration Act 1937; and the operation of employment bureaus within the province.

Section 4.—Canada and the International Labour Organization.*

The International Labour Organization of the League of Nations was set up in 1919 in accordance with Part XIII of the Treaties of Peace to promote the improvement of industrial conditions by legislative action and international agreement.

The Organization comprises the International Labour Conference, which meets annually and is composed of four representatives of each Member State, two of whom are government delegates, while two represent employers and workers respectively, and the International Labour Office in Geneva, which functions as a secretariat of the annual conference and also collects and publishes information on subjects relating to industrial life and labour. The Office is under the control of a Governing Body, consisting of 32 persons, appointed by the International Labour Conference, of whom 16 represent governments, 8 represent employers and 8 represent workers. In addition to its control of the Labour Office, the Governing Body is charged with the preparation of the agenda of the annual conference.

Under the terms of the Peace Treaties, eight of the government seats on the Governing Body are held by the countries of "chief industrial importance". Canada has been designated by the Council of the League of Nations as one of these eight States of chief industrial importance. Sixty-one countries are members of the International Labour Organization, comprising all of the industrial states of the world with the exception of Germany. The United States, although not a member of the League of Nations, joined the International Labour Organization in 1935, as did also Russia. Egypt, which was not a member of the League, also joined the International Labour Organization in 1936. Dr. W. A. Riddell, who had served as Canadian Advisory Officer to the League of Nations in Geneva since 1924, was transferred to the staff of the Canadian Legation in Washington in the autumn of 1937 and was replaced by Mr. H. Hume Wrong, who had previously served as Counsellor of the Canadian Legation in Washington since its establishment in 1927. At the triennial election of the Governing Body of the International Labour Office in

^{*} On this subject see also the 1921 Year Book, pp. 607-609; 1922-23 Year Book, pp. 704-707; and 1924 Year Book, pp. 666-670.